Back from blog hiatus

So I had a brief hiatus due to a family gathering in Lake Geneva.  Had a great time, but became lax on my blogging. 

image

However! That doesn’t mean I haven’t been moving.  On Sunday I went to Vogue Fabrics in Evanston.  Ann, my clothing construction teacher, met us there to walk through the fabrics and etiquette.  I walked away with fabric and notions for all three projects in class -sticking to a navy/grey palette.

The designer room has fabrics that come from design houses – it’s inspirational to pick through them. For the first time, i started touching fabric imagining how I’d design with it

The rest of Sunday had me prepping my fabric.  Truthfully, I never realized the fabric should be washed prior to sewing, but it makes sense in hindsight (wish I practiced that prior to some of my home projects) – the little things I’m learning in this class are invaluable.

Can’t wait to see the fabric my classmates picked!  My guess is that at least one picked neon.

One comment


Leave a Reply

